Beginner Series: Drums Method


Beginner Series: Drums Method

Level 1

The first volume in this series explains the most basic concepts of drumming. Starting with the fundamentals of posture and technique, and expanding to the understanding of quarter note, 8th note, and 16th note reading. Learning the counting system for each subdivision and learning many musical grooves using all three of them. This book also includes an introduction to “moving around the kit” using simple fills, as well as how to understand and develop the single and double stroke rolls.


Level 2

The second volume in this series focuses on reading several note values in the same example, explores more complicated 16th note figures both in the reading exercises and grooves, and continues developing your ability to move around the kit using fills with more complex rhythmic figures than before. we review technique exercises learned in the previous volume and combine them with different bass drum figures to challenge and strengthen your coordination and technical skill behind the kit, and start changing the placement of the snare drum to create new and more musical grooves.



Level 3

The third volume in this series focuses on the technical development of the subjects explained in the previous two books. We introduce the use of accents in reading examples and in grooves, as well as the use of ghost notes and several ghost note patterns that are very common and musical. We revisit some of the fills used in the previous books and add an extra level of technical difficulty by adding accents to them, and learn why and how to practice using a metronome with both reading examples and grooves.


Level 4

The fourth volume in this series focuses in developing 4-way coordination using familiar concepts from the previous books. We introduce the 8th note triplet and learn how to play grooves based around this new note value, as well as an introduction to transcribing rhythms. We learn to use the left foot hi-hat and start developing 4-way coordination, as well as playing on the ride cymbal. This book also takes a new look at fills by using hand-foot combinations for the first time, and explains the use of ties


Level 5

The fifth volume in this series develops in more depth the concepts that are introduced in the previous book. We learn to read 8th note triplet rests, we push our reading skills with ties combining them with 8th note triplets, and introduce your first polyrhythm. This book also continues to develop your fill vocabulary using 8th note triplets, we learn how to play flams, and learn all of the inversions of the paradiddle.


Level 6

The sixth and final volume in this series focuses in a deeper development of 4-way coordination and control. We learn to groove using the inversions of the paradiddle, and for the first time change the placement of the hi-hat with your left foot. We introduce new hi-hat/ride patterns and learn to play familiar grooves over them, and we end with an introduction to swing and comping.